Contact the Author | sample_mail@mail.com

Reviews

Moyes

22 August 2018

Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase

 

Pam V

14 October 2018

Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase

 

C Ansah

30 September 2018

Format: Paperback

 

C. D-D

12 November 2018

Format: Paperback
Grady HarpTop Contributor: Children’s Books

September 18, 2018

Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

 

V.E.

September 18, 2018

Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Sit down with a cup of tea, read and enjoy ☕😊🙏🙌

 

Rebecca Humbert

September 12, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition
shadrack wanjala

September 25, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition

Meet Denis Olasehinde Akinmolasire

Today, I’m happy to host Denis Olasehinde Akinmolasire. Denis is a software engineer who has always enjoyed writing and is taking the opportunity to share his unique insights and hidden talents to the rest of the world. *

Denis’s perspectives have been formed through his own journey in finding love, battling to overcome the challenges and fears that have been put in front of him in the pursuit of glory and being the very best he can be at everything he does.

Today, Denis is talking about his book of spoken word, Love, War and Glory. I was so intrigued with the book that I bought it, read it in practically one sitting. I loved it! My review is below.

 

 

The book is 122 pages and was published on July 27, 2018. You can find the book here:

And now, the interview.  I liked how Denis took my fiction-oriented questions and went with them!

Why did you decide to write this book? 

I have had certain troubles and experiences in finding love and had to overcome various hurdles to achieve my ambitions in life.  I wanted to share my thoughts on how to handle disappointments in life, what to do when you achieve your ambitions, staying hungry and what it means to love someone.  I’m hoping this book will inspire people to not give in and offer encouragement regardless of what stage they are at in life.

What genre is your book?

Poetry/Spoken Words/Critical Essays

What makes your book unique? 

A lot of books focus on love, a lot of books may focus on war and some may touch on glory.  But very few cover all three in a manner that can be applied to everyday life.

Do you plot ahead of time, or let the plot emerge as you write? 

A combination.  It is about letting the ideas and inspiration come to me.

How do you decide on the setting? 

This book takes place everywhere.  This book is global and touches many themes and places.

Do you have a writing mentor?

No; my book was driven from my own experiences and what I had seen in life.

What is your writing schedule? Do you have a favorite place to write?

I write whenever I am free and have ideas.  My favorite place to write is my living room.

Anything else you would like to add? 

I honestly feel this book will appeal to everyone.  If you like love poems you can find them here.  If you want to hear about stories of warriors fighting never-ending battles this book has it.  If you want to know how to cope when you reach the top of your mountain in any aspect in life you will find it here.  There are event accounts of some of the great champions that have come about in our lifetime.  I believe there is genuinely something in here that everyone can relate to.

Where can readers find you?

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/denisakinbookauthor/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fKmc1axyP60

Website: https://www.lovewarandglory.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lovewarandglory

Nancy’s review:

5 stars! This is definitely not the genre I usually read, but I was so intrigued when Denis approached me for an interview, that I immediately thought “I want to read this book!” It grabbed me. The collection is unique, uplifting, and inspiring. Denis’ approach to life is very down-to-earth, but he’s equally passionate and daring.

There are four parts to this collection: Love, War, Glory, and Life Stories. The first section on Love contains poems, essays, and odes to love; love in all its facets and complications and messiness. The offerings are both direct and lyrical. The section on War did not focus on war as it’s depicted in TV and movies, which I really appreciated. The essays centered around war with yourself, your fears, your self-doubt and inner critic;  war with the other team; war for revenge. My favorite essay in this section was called ‘The Champion Within,’ six packed paragraphs on purpose, resilience, and commitment.

The section on Glory was the one I found most interesting. Glory is not a concept in my daily lexicon. I liked how the author personalized it, reminding me that glory can be a positive and powerful tool in life’s journey.  But my favorite section by far was the last section, Life Stories. I loved the tidbits here, from the essays on football, to the ruminations about work, to the shorter insights on food, time, ego.

Each piece in this collection is a gem. I loved how the author brought his own feelings and point of view into the essays, but was also able to make them apply to anyone, anywhere. His point of view is positive and uplifting. You can dip into this book anytime, and find inspiration.